KKRN FM, is a volunteer-based, listener-supported radio station fostering positive social change and healthy communities by entertaining, informing and educating through diverse music, culture, news, and public affairs programming.

Mozart, Haydn and a Neo-Classic Revival! & Winds, Cello and China

Share Tweet Email

February 25 & 26, 2017:  Join me this week for a wonderful concert of chamber and symphonic music, with a little world music thrown in!  We start with the “Turkish March” by Mozart, a passionate symphony by Haydn and a rather modern and yet neo-classic concerto for oboe and small orchestra by 20th century British composer Lennox Berkeley.  The second hour of the program features a wild ride down the Niagara River to the Falls by Michael Daugherty, a beautiful piece for cello and orchestra by Gustav Holst called “Invocation”, and finally the “Earth” movement from Tan Dun’s Symphony 1997, featuring cellist YoYo Ma and the Yips Children’s Choir from China.  The concert wraps up with the famous Scherzo from “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” by Felix Mendelssohn.

Hour 1:

Intro:  Bernstein-Bale Fancy Free) [2.44] 

Mozart-Turkish March: Movement 3 from Piano Sonata No.11 in A, K. 331 (Jeno Jando, piano)  [3.39]

Haydn-Symphony No. 49 in F minor ‘La Passione” (Academy of St. Martin in the Fields/Neville Marriner)  [20.57]

Lennox Berkeley-Sinfonia concertante for oboe and piccola orchestra op. 84 (BBC National Orchestra of Wales/Richard Hickox with Nicholas Daniel, oboe) [22.27]

Hour 2:

Michael Daugherty-Niagara Falls for Concert Band  (North Texas Wind Symphony)  [9.44]

Gustav Holst-Invocation for cello and orchestra (Royal Scottish National Orchestra/David Lloyd-Jones with Tim Hugh, cello)  [10.09]

Tan Dun-Symphony 1997:  Earth-Water, Fire, Metal  (Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, the Imperial Bells Ensemble of   China, Yips Children's Choir and Yo Yo Ma, cello)  [25.13]

Mendelssohn-Scherzo from ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Jane Glover)   [4.42]

You must be signed in to post comments.