KKRN FM, is a volunteer-based, listener-supported radio station fostering positive social change and healthy communities by entertaining, informing and educating through diverse music, culture, news, and public affairs programming.

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 & Henry Cowell

Share Tweet Email

Aprii 8-9 2017:  This special broadcast of Intermountain Classics pays special tribute to two area musicians who recently passed, and made wonderful contributions to the richness and diversity of live music in the Redding.  Chris Uchibori was actively involved in the Shasta Symphony, Shasta College Jazz and Concert Bands, and performed regularly with local musicians in the area.  Barry Hazle was the creator of Oaksongs Music Society, a local organization that has brought top-name musicians to the Redding area for live concerts.  I am pleased to dedicate this broadcast to the memory of Chris and Barry, with warm thanks and appreciation for their wonderful contributions to live music in the Redding area.

In this Intermountain Classics program I am pleased to highlight music by 20th century American composers and arrangers.  We will hear the beautiful and very exciting Piano Concerto No. 3 by early 20th century composer Sergei Prokofiev, and a new work by David Hertzberg called “Spectre of the Spheres”.  We will also hear a beautiful Sonata for Flute and Orchestra by the French-composer  Francis Poulenc and arranged for orchestra by Lennox Berkeley, a symphony by American 20th century composer Charles Ives and a Hymn and Fuguing Tune by California-born composer Henry Cowell. Stay tuned for this most inspiring program of fine classical music, right here on Intermountain Classics, on your community radio Station for Redding and Shasta County, KKRN, 88.5 FM and on the web at www.kkrn.org.

All Intermountain Classics shows for 2016 and 2017 year are now archived on the KKRN website, www.kkrn.org.  If you miss a program or you want to hear it again, go to the Intermountain Classics section of the www.kkrn.org website and look for the show you want to hear.  Each show is available for immediate playback.   

Intro: Cowell-Fiddler’s Jig for Solo Violin and String Orchestra  [2.09]

Hour 1:

Poulenc/Berkeley-Sonata for Flute and piano transcribed for chamber orchestra (Scottish Chamber Orchestra /Steuart Bedford, with Jennifer   Stinton, flute)  [12.09]

Prokofiev-Piano Concerto No. 3 (Lucerne Festival Orchestra/Claudio Abbado with Yuja Wang, piano)  [26.54]

Hertzberg-Spectre of the Spheres [11.43]

Hour 2:

Ives-Symphony No. 2 (New York Philharmonic Orchestra/Leonard Bernstein)  [42.22]

Cowell-Hymn and Fuguing Tune No. 3 (Louisville Orchestra /Jorge Mester )  [7.00]

Exit Music:  Stravinsky Pastorale [0.41]

You must be signed in to post comments.