KKRN FM, is a volunteer-based, listener-supported radio station fostering positive social change and healthy communities by entertaining, informing and educating through diverse music, culture, news, and public affairs programming.

North State Symphony Concert Preview & Beautiful Ballet Music from Russia

Share Tweet Email

February 18 & 19 2017:  Recently our own North State Symphony presented a very special concert of music celebrating the coming of Spring.  This concert, “Leaping Into Spring”, included Robert Schumann’s “Spring” symphony, and the Snow Maiden Suite by Russian composer Nikolai Rimsky Korsakov; as well as two new works:  a newly commissioned work by composer Libby Larsen called “Dancing Man Rhapsody”, performed most eloquently by concert master Terrie Baune, and a new work by David Biedenbender called “Schism”.  In this broadcast Intermountain Classics is proud to feature highlights of this concert, including an in-depth interview with conductor and artistic director Scott Seaton talking about the music performed on the concert.  And later on in this broadcast, we will hear some exquisitely beautiful ballet music from Russia, including Tchaikovsky’s “Swan Lake” and Prokofiev’s “Cinderella”.

Hour 1:

Intro:  Libby Larsen-Today, This Spring: She Piped for Us [2.08] 

Rimsky-Korsakov - Snow Maiden Suite: Act I -Intro: Danse  des Oiseaux;Cortège; Danse des Bouffons · Motet de Genève  (L'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande/Ernest Ansermet)  [12.22]

Interview with Scott Seaton [9.28]

David Biedenbender-“Schism”  (University of Michigan Dept. of Music, Theater & Dance/David   Biedenbender)  [5.04]

Schumann - “Spring” Symphony No. 1:  excerpts( Philharmonia Orchestra/Otto Klemperer)    [22.30]

Hour 2:

Tchaikovsky-Suite from the Ballet “Swan Lake” (Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra/Vladimir Fedoseyev)  [31.17]

Prokofiev-Suite from the Ballet “Cinderella”:  Introduction & Act I (St. Louis Symphony Orchestra/Leonard Slatkin)  [17.56]



You must be signed in to post comments.